mœrs sessions!

curated by Jan Klare

Angelika Niescier, the festival’s first improviser in residence in 2008 and a very welcome guest in Moers ever since, put it best: “For many attendees, the sessions are the real moers festival!” And where else have hundreds of listeners been able to come together since 1979 to experience sonic journeys, close encounters of the creative kind, astonishing explosions and inspired ad-hoc configurations? Although “ad-hoc” only appears accurate on first glance: curator Jan Klare has a deft touch when it comes to arranging his peers in line-ups that promise a maximum in tension and adventurousness. Join us to celebrate the essence of the festival: improvisation in its purest form!


0:25 - 0:45
Herbert Pirker – dr (nine for three)
Reza Askari – bass (Askari/Jeffery/Klare/Krämer)
Theresia Philipp – sax (BÖRT)

0:50 - 1:10
Ute Wassermann – voc (Ventil)
Elisabeth Harnik – piano (51%)
Athina Kontou – bass (Été Large)
Erhard Hirt – guitar (Ventil)

1:15 - 1:35
Achim Krämer – drums (Askari/Jeffery/Klare/Krämer)
Luise Isabel Volkmann – sax Été Large)
Stefan Keune - sax (Ventil)
Liz Kosack – keys (51%)

Time: Saturday, 30th May 2020, 00:25